A Little About Us…

When I arrived in Japan nearly 15 years ago, marriage and kids…ah hell, being here longer than a year, was not even a notion in the back of my mind. And yet, here I am and here you are reading my thought dribbles.

I won’t go into (aka bore you) with all the gory details on how I arrived at this wonderful wacky place. Here I sit, a married mother of two, navigating my way through parenting and marriage in a foreign country.

Thing One and Thing Two (as they will be known henceforth) are the lights of my life. No one can make me laugh harder or weep more copiously than these two wee heart breakers. I started this blog because while I often share tidbits of our lives, via Facebook with family and friends, I wanted something more than just a snapshot of our lives.

Thing One came into our lives just a little over four years ago. He is (perhaps unfortunately) just like me – anxious, a little negative, and quick to anger. But he is also ridiculously smart and totally hilarious. I adore almost everything about this wee bugger. I think you’ll find him as entertaining as we do.

Thing Two made her appearance just a little over two years ago. She barrels through life with an abundance of energy, barreling over anyone and anything in her path. She is “Daddy’s Girl” and does not hesitate to shout that from the rooftops…from her car seat, her bed, while laying on the floor in the supermarket… you get the idea. She was an unexpected surprise, but her arrival completed our little family and added a dimension that was never expected.

I am not creating a Parenting Blog. Lord knows I am as much in the dark about how to keep these wee heathens alive and ensure they do not wind up as serial killers, as anyone. If this blog makes you laugh, if this blog makes you feel less alone, if this blog gives you some helpful advice (unintentionally, I’m afraid), then I have done what I set out to do.

So…that being said. Kick back with a cuppa, cocktail, bucket of chocolate… whatever suits you and have a wee look-see into our crazy lives. Thanks for reading (and subscribe for updates if you enjoy what you see)!

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started