Half-Way to Santa’s House

“So…I stepped away for like, two seconds…”
– the beginning of every parenting horror story

The next chapter begins…

I began this blog in 2020, as a means of keeping in touch with family and friends at home in Canada, as we experienced the highs and lows of life as a foreign family in Japan. The struggle to raise two non-Japanese kids in Japan was epic. We came through it with our superhero capes a wee bit ripped and torn, but we made it.

We were trying to make the decision whether or not to move home to Canada, so we sat down as a family to discuss the move:

Where are we going to live, Mummy?
A little town called “The ‘Wadge”.
Is that near Nanny’s house?
No…not really. It’s about halfway between Santa’s house and Nanny’s house.
Thing Two: YAAAAAY! Can we go to Santa’s house? Can we have Santa over for a barbeque?
Thing One: Halfway to Santa’s house? I thought you said we’re moving to Canada? Santa lives in Finland… Are we moving to Finland, Mummy?

No. We have not moved to Finland.

Today, I begin the new chapter of our story from the North-Western wilds of Ontario, Canada.

These stories will follow the lives and adventures of Thing One and Thing Two in The ‘Wadge – a little town nestled between Sault Ste. Marie and Thunder Bay, Ontario.

So, faithful readers…. many of you have asked when I would be writing of our adventures in Canada, and I jokingly responded – “Wait for the book.”

As I try to write a book and adjust to being back in my home country with my family, I hope you will continue to laugh and cry along with us as you read about our many adventures.

With love,
Jodi

One thought on “Half-Way to Santa’s House

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started